Disrupted Ranks

Description: A unit cannot use the Steadfast rule if it is Engaged in Combat in its Flank or Rear with an enemy unit with at least 2 Full Ranks.

Splitting combat.
a) Unit A suffers casualties, which results in unit D no longer being in base contact. Neither unit A nor unit D can be nudged back into base contact since they are in base contact with other enemies (see ). Calculate Combat Score in this case as one single combat (only unit C grants a Flank Bonus).
b) In the next Player Turn, this situation will count as two separate combats.